Windows 7 First Glance: I see "Vista… v1.1"

What am I missing here?

Over the weekend I downloaded the latest RC (May 2009) of Windows 7, because I was excited by the hoopla it was already getting in blogs, on news websites, and even on the radio. I created a VM in my (now beloved) VMWare Workstation 6, mounted the Windows7 RC.iso to it, and watched the semi-new Nicholas Cage movie “Knowing” in the DVD player whilst the Windows 7 install ran…

I don’t know which one I was more disappointed in – the movie or the new OS.
😐

My first suspicion came when the installer fired up, and the VMWare VM looked at the CD key for the .ISO file, did some internal detecting of meta-data, and promptly considered the OS being installed “VISTA”…

My next suspicion was post-install, when what I SAW with my own eyes was – you guessed it – VISTA.

25+ years in IT (development & consulting) – I’m not by any means inexperienced nor under-educated. But when Microsoft (and apparently all The Emperor’s court) are lauding “Windows 7”, all I see is… Vista.
😦

The Emperor has no clothes !
The Emperor has no clothes !

I don’t get it.

I pay $1298 bucks a year out of my own pocket for a personal MSDN subscription which entitles me to all Microsoft’s latest software… so WHERE is the “amazing” Windows 7 that everyone ELSE must have?

Nothing seems to have changes, but for what appear to be only minor cosmetic changes to the desktop, but widgets and the task bar. I must confess, I was expecting something REALLY different, judging from all the pundits’ praises.

For now I’ll dare to say my jury-of-one is still out on Windows 7, but I can’t help but think that Microsoft must be employing the very SAME marketing company that just hyped the hell out the latest Harry Potter movie – that too is another gilded turd.

Watch this blog for more TRUTH from a joe.average perspective, if you want to really know what to think of Vista 1.1 – oops – “Windows 7”.

– MV

This entry was posted in Joe Average vs Modern Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

